Home

Temple of Flux, Guardian photo by John Curley

Apparently I’m not the only one who thought the Temple of Flux and the Flux Foundation that it spawned had something interesting to say about the times in which we live – at least worthy of a Guardian cover story and the ending of my book – because the TED organization today announced the Flux is a finalist to speak at TED2012: Full Spectrum. And to go big, they’ve started a Kickstarter campaign you can kick in to.
“We built community through art and we’d like to show you how,” was the final tagline for a cool video that Jess Hobbs and the rest of the Flux crew produced as an application to TED, today’s most cutting edge speakers forum.
Now, the Flux crew and 16 other finalists are headed to New York City where they’ll be presenting the project live on May 26, an event that TED will stream over the Internet. I wish I could be there to see it live, but my own trip to NYC for The Tribes of Burning Man book tour is June 7-13. Missed it by that much.
But honestly, there’s more going on with the culture that I covered in my book than I can keep up with anyway, at least while busy promoting said book, which I’ll be doing this week with bookstore readings on May 11 at Books Inc. in Mountain View and May 13 at Revolution Books in Berkeley.
Last week, Marco Cochrane, Katy Boynton, and the rest of the Blissdance crew installed that beautiful, 40-foot sculpture of a dancing nude woman on Treasure Island, where she will reside in a temporary placement until at least October, with a welcoming reception for her planned for May 26.
Also out on Treasure Island, Peter Hudson and his committed crew have been hard at work on Charon, his latest stroboscopic zoetrope that sounds like it could be his best piece yet. It’s definitely on my list to get out there, check it out, and lend a hand – as I’ve been promising to do – but life seems awfully demanding right now.
What else? Last weekend, my Garage Mahal campmates threw a great fundraiser party that set them on the path for another rocking year, while my publisher Brad Olsen and his How Weird Street Faire crew staged one of the best outdoor dance parties in San Francisco, ever, and I really don’t think I’m exaggerating. Just. Killed. It. And I suppose the weirdly warm San Francisco weather that peaked that day didn’t hurt either.
Yes, it’s a life of abundance that we lead, party people. See you around.

Leave a Reply

