Home

When Burning Man asked me how I feel about its new system for buying tickets – as I applied for mine today, the first day of registration – I chose the multiple-choice answer: “Kinda neutral. Doing what I can and hoping for the best.” Not either of the “not too worried” answers, or the ones that began “Not too thrilled” or “Think you guys are nuts.”
I’ve understood both the criticisms and the rationale since I first covered the issue last month, and they’re each pretty reasonable, so I’ve long since decided just to wait and see. I didn’t even register for the top tier price of $390, even though it would probably improve my odds. Again, I’m cool with fatalism this year. It’ll all work out and if I can’t easily get a ticket for $320 or less, so be it. But I did order two tickets, because I know I’ll have friends in need.
Frankly, I liked how chill it was to apply for tickets this time, rather than the usual frantic scramble to get in line online by noon. It allowed for a leisurely chat rather than just battling through computer farts and crashes to begin the countdown from the 8,739th place in line.
What we think of the new system wasn’t the only question that Burning Man asked us this year. There were an even dozen, asking about our past attendance and participation and current involvement, and they assured us that “your answers will in NO WAY affect your likelihood of receiving tickets.”
I hope Burning Man will make the answers to the survey public, and I can’t see why they wouldn’t. The organization is to be commended for seeking this kind of feedback and information, so share it with us, because I think we’re all curious how it’s going to work out.
Registration continues until January 22nd and then we all find out February 1st. Good luck, everyone.

And while you’re waiting for word from Burning Man, read my book, The Tribes of Burning Man: How an Experimental City in the Desert is Shaping the New American Counterculture. Read it a second time if you’ve already done so, remember the magic…and maybe catch some typos for us before the next printing. What, you’ve not even read it once yet? C’mon, people should read more, and you’ll dig it so buy one here or here or anywhere. I was kidding about the typos, it’s perfect! All the cool kids are reading it, and you want be a cool kid, right? Or at least to read about some? And to help a poor starving writer buy a couple expensive tickets? Okay, okay, I’ll stop now.    
Image

Leave a Reply

