Preparing for Machu Picchu

Sunday is traditionally a day for rest and reflection in South America. That sounds pretty good to me after an active and eventful three days in Cusco, Peru. But I also have to do some packing and psyching myself up for my five-day trek to Machu Picchu that begins at 4 a.m. tomorrow.

The hike over Salkantaya will include 10 hours of high-altitude hiking on Tuesday, followed by cold camping at the snow line. Three nights in a tent will be followed Thursday night by a hostel stay in Aquas Calientes, the closest town to Machu Picchu, and another 4:30 a.m. start time to catch dawn at the legendary lost Inca city in the clouds. Then we catch the train back and should be back in Cusco by 9 p.m. Friday.

Yesterday, after dancing until dawn at Mama Africa on Plaza de las Armas, I hiked to the four Inca ruins closest to town with Marc from Belgium. The most impressive was the closest, a huge fortification pronounced like ¨Sexy Woman.¨It was a massive and mind-blowing, with huge carved pieces stacked using just the manual labor of the 1400s.

I was exhausted by the time we finally reached Tambomachay (maybe it´s good to get more than a few hours sleep before trekking almost 10 miles) and crashed hard once i got back to my homey hostel (thanks for todo, Jose and Nancy). I might have just kept sleeping if I didn´t have dinner plans with a group of vacationing Limeñas that have adopted me. 

I somehow managed to stay out until after 1:30 again that night, but I really need to praise the Inca sun god or whatever divine power created the day of rest. I may just have to conjure up a few more of my own before my vacation ends on the 16th. Adios, amigos. Escribo mas en Sabado.  

One Comment

  1. Just like Mr. Scribe to stay out dancing ’till dawn the day before a 10 mile hike! Sleeping is over-rated, anyhow. Who was the DJ? They sound rather indigenous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

